Ice Hockey Western Australia
Learn to play ice hockeyLEARN TO PLAY HOCKEY
Coaches cornerCOACHES CORNER


State Coaching Director

What does this role do?  And how does the Coaching Director help the State?  Appointed May 2012 - WAIHA has developed a  Coaching Director Job DescriptionHave a read and if you have any questions, comments or additions please let us know.

State and National Team Appointments and Information

EOI - IHA Development Camps - 22 June 2012

Monthly Newsletters on Coaching Iniatives

2012 Updates

Coaching Director Presentation on State Based Activities - December 2012

Coaches Update 4 - October/November 2012

Coaches Update 3 - August 2012

Coaches Update 2 - July 2012

Coaches Update 1 - June 2012

2013 Updates

Coaches Update 6 - February/March 2013 

Coaches Update 5 - January 2013

Level 1 Course - Resources for Coaches

Congratulations to all the clubs for encouraging a record turn out at the level 1 course held on the 16th and 17th of March.  Coaches please remember to submit your exams, without these you will not be accredited.  To assist you the course presentation slides and level 1 manual has been attached.  All exams need to be in as soon as practicable.  Please scan and email your exams to coaching director on

Part 1 - IHA & IIHF Structure

Part 2 - IHA Role of the Coach

Part 3 - IHA Communication Principles

Part 4 - IHA Teaching Techniques

Part 5 - IHA Practise Planning

Part 6 - IHA Bench Management

Part 7 - IHA Risk Management

Part 8 - IHA Athlete Protection

Level 1 Course - August Update on Exams

Exams received from the following attendees:  Aaron Hoffman, Pete Pajunen, Scott Kynoch, David Kenway, Anthony Tay,  Bryan Maybee, Michael Johnson,  Eric Hoeger, Paul Sparks, Chris Langille, Christophe Moffatt, Shelley Guiffre, Adrian Giuffre, Tom Boschman, Glen Bennett, Franco Maldero, and Maurice Heistek .  Good job on submitting, your exams have been sent to IHA.

Awaiting exams from the following attendees:  Glen Brabham, Christian Stenvall, Ron Goldsmith, Alex Horsburgh, Jonathan Spalding, Tonii Larpent and Victor Ageev.